Sunday Brunch- Emma’s Country Kitchen

Ashley and I decided to go for an impromptu brunch and shockingly both of us were stumped on where to go. I am not ashamed to say that I use Google every so often to find places to eat at and even less ashamed to say that they are usually good suggestions. On this day, Google pointed us towards Emma’s Country Kitchen. I had heard good things about it from friends so we decided to give it a shot.

The space has a large takeout counter where you can purchase some of their delicious bakery items. If you go on a Saturday or Sunday they have fresh doughnuts which looked yummy, but sadly I was too full to try!

The dining area isn’t that large, but it can fit a good amount of people. It seems like it is a popular spot to take children as we were seated beside two families with small kids. If you want to avoid this, I would suggest going a little later in the morning.

The Food:

I ordered the Emma’s Benny (obviously). A warm and fluffy buttermilk biscuit topped with house cured peameal bacon, poached eggs and smothered in mousselline sauce. Served with a side of griddled red skin potatoes. What intrigued me most about this dish was that it did not have the traditional hollandaise sauce. I had never heard of mousselline but after doing a little research I have learnt that it is very similar to hollandaise and has many of the same elements, but has whipped cream added to it. Needless to say, it was delicious!

The mousselline sauce! Looks just like hollandaise

The mousselline sauce! Looks just like hollandaise

Ashley had the B.L.T. which comes with house cured bacon, heirloom tomato, baby arugula and lemon basil aioli. She held off on the aioli, but enjoyed the dish and loved the bacon! She also ordered a hot chocolate with whipped cream on top. It was good, but not as good as Bobbette and Belles. She also had a tiny glass of fresh squeezed orange juice. It was the perfect amount when you are just feeling like a little juice to go with your breakfast.

Beautiful tomatoes in the BLT!

Beautiful tomatoes in the BLT!

I really enjoyed the atmosphere and the brunch was delicious. I will definitely be going back and hopefully I can save room for the fresh doughnuts.

The best: Emma’s Benny

Not the best:  The griddled red skin potatoes. I don’t love home fries unless they are deep fried so these just didn’t do it for me, but it’s a personal preference

www.emmascountrykitchen.com

1108 St Clair Ave W

Emma's Country Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment