Playa Cabana

It felt so good to be back.  I’ve had take-out a few times recently, but hadn’t been back to the restaurant in a long while.  There’s something about scoring a last-minute reservation and then finding a friend to eat with that is so satisfying.

In terms of drinks, I love the playa paloma.  It’s my go-to and favourite cocktail (aside from some of the delicious concoctions I’ve had at Toronto Temperance Society – but that’s for another day).  Grapefruit and tequila.  The best margarita.  So smooth.  Not too boozy tasting, but very boozy.  I just wish they made it in a pitcher…

I love Mexican food, but I’ll confess, I hate guacamole.  I’m not the best sharer for some of my friends.  I started with the nachos a la plancha.  They aren’t conventional nachos.  Fried tortillas topped with beans and crema and some Mexican sort of bbq sauce (no clue at all what it is).  They come with a little pile of pickled hot peppers that might be one of my favourite condiments ever.  I also really like their chicken quesadillas – not your typical quesadilla, more like a pulled chicken pizza pocket covered in corn and crema.  Some other great apps I’ve had are the super spicy chicken wings, or the crazy addictive shrimp in a bucket.  My friend had the ceviche which she loved.  It comes with their fresh, housemade tortilla chips.  These are the real deal.  Straight out of the fryer, covered in salt.  Perfect for eating plain or with any combination of guac, salsa, ceviche…

For mains, I had my #1 favourite restaurant item right now.  I can’t get enough of the braised short rib-brisket tacos!  They come in a crispy tortilla shell with crema, a little salsa and a wedge of lime.  It’s perfection.  The meat is so juicy, tender and falling apart, the perfect contrast to the crispy shell.  Mmmm.  Mouth foaming.  Thinking about when I can go again.  If I’m hungry, I’ll go for a side of rice and refried beans.  I don’t always need it (I didn’t this time because I had the “nachos”).  My husband always offers to pick these up for me if I’m having a bad day (it helps that we live 2 minutes away).

My friend had the fish tacos, they were halibut on the day we went.  She gets them grilled – sinful.  I thought about ordering them myself that day, fried of course, but am happy I stuck with my favourite menu item.  One day I’ll try them, but I never even want to give up one of my three tacos for a trade.

Best: Short rib-brisket tacos.  Have all three yourself or order them to share.

Not the best: Trying to get a reservation!  It’s getting easier now that they have 3 locations, but still… I don’t like to plan 2 weeks in advance.

Check out Playa Cabana.  It’s on The List.

http://www.playacabana.ca/

111 Dupont St (near Dupont and Davenport)

Playa Cabana on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment