The Stockyards

I didn’t know how to start this post because I can’t confess my love for this place enough.  Whenever I want something delicious and fatty, it’s my go-to. I’ve been at least 30 times and have recommended it to many friends.  Everyone that goes comes back with rave reviews.  It’s a small restaurant with counter service, a huge takeout business and usually a giant crowd of people waiting to sit down.

As sad as this is, this is a direct quote from one of my friends: “you are the unhealthiest eater I know”.  This is one reason you can trust me about comfort food.  I consider myself to be an expert of fried chicken.  This chicken is insane and it’s my #1 in the city.  It has perfect, super crispy skin and is unbelievably juicy and flavourful.  $14 for a half chicken (cut into four pieces) with fries, coleslaw and hot sauce similar to Frank’s Red Hot.  I also love their BBQ sauce – it’s sweet and tangy (similar to the delicious McD’s) and not smokey at all.  My strategy for devouring this meal is one hand with a fork, the other for ripping the chicken and picking up fries – one clean, one dirty.  I order the chicken 98% of the time.

the best fried chicken

the best fried chicken

The other things to get are the burgers.  I’ve had the classic, the butter burger (blue cheese, bone marrow butter) and recently Jess had the Beast (cooked with mustard).  They are made from mounds of beef, smashed perfectly on the griddle.  They have this amazing butter roller contraption that ensures each bun is perfectly buttered before toasting.

The Beast

The Beast

Shout outs go to the green of the day.  I’ve had the brussel sprouts with bacon, balsamic and srirachi as well as the creamed kale with caramelized onions and golden raisins.  They are green, but that’s all that’s healthy about either of them.  Both are delicious, but my preference is the kale.  They usually sell out before the end of the night.

Brussels with balsamic and sriracha

Brussels with balsamic and sriracha

My husband is a huge fan of the biscuits.  I’m a big fan of their weekend brunch chicken and waffles.  The grilled cheese is pretty great too.  They used to have an awesome limeade which recently disappeared from the menu (but I’m hoping that’s just for the winter).  I really haven’t had anything bad.

Oh.  And they also have smoked chicken and ribs on Tuesdays, Fridays and Sundays.  Why just those days?  They take up to 18 hours to make them in a wood burning oven.  It takes time to make magic like this.

My recommendation for you is to get the chicken and share a burger.  It’s really the perfect combo.  You deserve a treat.

http://www.thestockyards.ca/

699 St. Clair Ave. West (west of Bathurst)

The Stockyards Smokehouse & Larder on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment