Morton’s Steakhouse

Sometimes I can be a bully, but for the most part, it’s in a good way.  I try to encourage (read: force) people to do things they might not want to do.  In this case, it was run a 5k race.  Punishment for not doing it: take me to dinner at Morton’s… not exactly fair to call it a punishment, right?

Morton’s was in full swing on Sunday at 6pm.  I saw a few people I knew then sat down for 2 hours of good eating.  I had a pinot noir and forced my friend to try it.  “I hate red wine” was followed with “oh that’s actually pretty good”.

We shared a Casear salad to start.  It’s a good Casear, but it’s hard to write rave reviews about a salad that can be found everywhere.  It’s a big salad with big slices of parmesan.

For the main, we went a little crazy.  We shared the single porterhouse which is a tenderloin and a New York strip with a bone down the middle.  It’s enough for two (no matter what the menu says) and we still took some home.  When I order meat and am asked what temperature I want it cooked, I always ask what the chef recommends.  You would like to believe that the chef knows how to prepare it best (especially at a nice steakhouse).  With a porterhouse, you get a variance in temperature due to the size of the piece and the giant bone in the center.  If you like meat more well done, stick to the outside.  More rare, go for the pieces on the inside.  UPDATE: I was recently told that I didn’t even mention if I liked the steak… of course I did!  It’s Morton’s.  Tender, flavourful and look at all the juice on the plate.

The big bad porterhouse

The big bad porterhouse

I have a confession to make – I asked for steak sauce.  So what?  I love sauce with anything.  Anytime I can dip my food I will.  So there.  It’s out.

For sides we went with my favourite – the hashbrown (a full dinner plate of golden, crispy, potato pancake deliciousness), creamed spinach (more cream than spinach, how can you not order it), mac and cheese with bacon (spiral macaroni, generous bacon and a super thick cheese sauce and bread crumb crunchy topping)  and grilled jumbo asparagus with balsamic glaze (gotta get some green in there).  We took home a pretty serious doggie bag.

For dessert, we also went big.  Key lime pie and the molten lava cake.  There’s the chocolate or no chocolate choice.  The key lime is one of the best I’ve had.  A huge slice, tart, great crust.  The lava cake is also stellar, perfect gooey centre with vanilla ice cream and a couple of raspberries.  It’s made to order, so you have to order it when you order your main.  Either make an excellent choice after this meal.

Best: Dessert!  Usually I’m a lady for the main course, but this was a great night of desserts.  How can you go wrong with the perfect combo of chocolatey and tart citrus?

Not the Best: Not-so jumbo asparagus.  It was good, just not the best.  But let’s be honest, November isn’t exactly asparagus season.

Unfortunately I swapped my phone in before putting the pictures on the blog.  So you will have to go to see what it looks like.

http://www.mortons.com/toronto/

4 Avenue Road (near Bloor)

Morton's - the Steakhouse on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment